Have a Question? Contact the Humanities Office or an Academic Unit

Faculty

Nadine Attewell

Associate Professor
Email: attewen@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.24492
Office: Chester New Hall 311
Research Interests: English, Long Genres, Gender
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 3AA3, ENGLISH 4VL3, ENGLISH 4ME3, CSCT 3AA3
Profile

Sarah Brophy

Professor
Email: brophys@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.22243
Office: Chester New Hall 331
Research Interests: English, Fiction, British
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 1AA3, ENGLISH 4CB3, ENGLISH 4CB3
Profile
LinkedIn

Iris Bruce

Associate Professor
Email: ibruce@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.24697
Office: Togo Salmon Hall 627
Research Interests: Linguistics, German, Europe
Recent Courses: GERMAN 3ZZ3, GERMAN 3H03, ENGLISH 3CC3, GERMAN 2CC3
Profile
LinkedIn

Chandrima Chakraborty

Associate Professor
Email: chandri@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23777
Office: Chester New Hall 309
Research Interests: English, South Asia, Postcolonialism
Recent Courses: CSCT 4WI3, ENGLISH 3R06A, ENGLISH 3R06
Profile
Website

David Clark

Professor
Email: dclark@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23737
Office: Chester New Hall 321
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 4AR3, ENGLISH 1A03, ENGLISH 3AA3, CSCT 3AA3
Profile
Website

Daniel Coleman

Professor
Email: dcoleman@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23717
Office: Chester New Hall 303
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 3A03, ENGLISH 3A03, ENGLISH 3A03
Profile
Website
LinkedIn

Amber Dean

GSFR Acting Program Director
Associate Professor
Email: deanamb@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23725
Office: Chester New Hall 214
Research Interests: Reading, Writing, Critism
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 1CS3, ENGLISH 2RW6
Profile

Jeffery Donaldson

Professor
Email: jdonalds@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.24132
Office: Chester New Hall 308
Research Interests: English, Short, Genres
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 1A03, ENGLISH 1A03, ENGLISH 1A03
Profile
Website

Susan Fast

GSFR Program Director (currently on sabbatical)
Professor
Email: fastfs@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.24715
Office: Chester New Hall 308
Research Interests: English, Culture
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 1CS3, MUSIC 2II3, CSCT 1CS3
Profile

Susan Searls Giroux

Professor
Email: avpfac@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.24672
Office: University Hall 203
Research Interests: Critical theory, race/ethnic studies, globalization, cultural studies, radical theories of education, modern and postmodern American literature
Profile

Henry Giroux

Professor
Email: girouxh@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.26551
Office: Chester New Hall 229
Profile
Website
LinkedIn

Donald Goellnicht

Professor
Email: goellnic@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.26259
Office: Chester New Hall 225
Research Interests: English, African , American
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 3GF3, ENGLISH 3EE3
Profile

Melinda Gough

Associate Professor
Email: goughm@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23716
Office: Chester New Hall 329
Research Interests: Renaissance studies, Feminist studies
Recent Courses: WOMEN ST 1A03
Profile

Cathy Grisé

Associate Professor
Email: grisec@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23510
Office: Chester New Hall 325
Research Interests: Gender, Religion, Material culture
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 3C06A, ENGLISH 2CR3, ENGLISH 2KK3, HUMAN 1VV3
Profile

Roger Hyman

Associate Professor
Email: hymanr@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23732
Office: Chester New Hall 302
Research Interests: English, Fiction, Genres
Recent Courses: THTRFLM 3DD3, ENGLISH 1AA3, ENGLISH 4HL3, ENGLISH 1AA3
Profile

Grace Kehler

Associate Professor
Email: kehlerg@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23723
Office: Chester New Hall 208
Research Interests: English, British, Adaptations
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 3M06A, ENGLISH 4AN3, ENGLISH 3M06
Profile

James King

Professor
Email: jking@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.24493
Office: Chester New Hall 316
Research Interests: English, Theatre & Film, Jane Austen
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 4FW3, ENGLISH 4CF3, ENGLISH 3H03, ENGLISH 1C06A
Profile

Rick Monture

Assistant Professor
Email: monture@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23726
Office: Chester New Hall 209
Profile

Susie O'Brien

Associate Professor
Email: obriensu@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23724
Office: Chester New Hall 301
Research Interests: English, Culture, Literature
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 2Z03, ENGLISH 2Z03, ENGLISH 2Z03
Profile
LinkedIn

Mary O'Connor

Professor
Email: moconnor@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23731
Office: Chester New Hall 323
Research Interests: English, African-American, Women
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 4AA3
Profile
LinkedIn

Anne Savage

Associate Professor
Email: savage@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23729
Office: Chester New Hall 326
Research Interests: English, Literature
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 3L03, ENGLISH 3L03, ENGLISH 1C06, ENGLISH 1C06
Profile
LinkedIn

Mary Silcox

Professor
Email: silcox@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.27314
Office: Chester New Hall 330
Research Interests: English, Literature, Utopian
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 3RL6A, ENGLISH 4UT3
Profile
LinkedIn

Peter Walmsley

Professor
Email: walmsley@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23728
Office: Chester New Hall 323
Profile
LinkedIn

Lorraine York

Professor
Email: yorkl@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23739
Office: Chester New Hall 304
Research Interests: English, Canadian, Literature
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 4GN3, ENGLISH 1A03, ENGLISH 2G06, ENGLISH 4ON3
Profile
LinkedIn

Eugenia Zuroski

Associate Professor
Email: zuroski@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23720
Office: Chester New Hall 403
Research Interests: English, Short, Genres
Recent Courses: ENGLISH 1A03, ENGLISH 3G06A, ENGLISH 1A03
Profile